Ba Gua Zhe Xiue


Ba Gua's Theory

Bagua Zhang has a fundamental theory, the Bagua Xiue (when on says Bagua, the term should be understood as an abbreviation of Bagua Xiue, or Bagua's theory), its physical expression and its martial form. In a thousand years old book called Zhou Yi, the three fundamental theories that constitute Bagua Xiue are compiled: Buddhism, Taoism, and Confucianism. These are also the essence of eastern philosophy.


Today, Bagua's theory has spread all over the world. Bagua is made of Ying and Yang and their variation. In Bagua, Yang is represented by the Yang Yao(   ) and Ying is represented by the Ying Yao (    ).

Ying and Yang together constitute the Liangyi. The union of several Liangyi constitute the Si Xiang ( 4 forms ).

Finaly, a composition of Si Yang constitute the Bagua. Each part of the symbol is called GUA. The GUA always has 3 YAO, therefore the symbol has a total of 24 YAO. Each one of the eight GUAS has its form and name:

A Bagua may have 6 YAOS. With the combination of these GUAS, one can obtain 48 YAOS. By combining the YAOS of 64 GUAS, one can obtain 384 different forms. In the old days, the Chinese used those combinations to understand the manifestations of life, for instance wining and loosing, success and failure, among others.

To interpret Yao Ci or GUA CI by means of the symbols and words is what is called I-CHING.  

ZHOU WEN WANG wrote a book to interpret and understand I-CHING.

This is the simplified way for understanding BaGua.

Ba Gua's Origin.

There are two types of Ba Gua: HOU TIAN and XIAN TIAN (which is older). XIAN TIAN Ba Gua was created by FU XI SHI. FU XI was training in a Forest and felt the QI (or CHI) of Nature surrounding him. He observed the movement of Nature. From the Yellow River came a being, a unicorn. From the picture made of this creature's spot pattern, FU XI idealized the Ba Gua.

The Ba Gua thus created had a horizontal, simplified form. Next, a rectangular and a square form were created, until it resulted in the circular symbol, which is called Ba Gua XIAN TIAN.

At SHAN XI province, a great tortoise with eight legs and 4 eyes appeared. In its shell there was a picture much like the BA GUA. From that picture, XIA YU idealized a figure called LUO SHU. Thus, Chinese society passed from FU XI age to XIA YU age. .

Latter, ZHOU WEN WANG, through LUO SHU, created three other BA GUAS of the HOU TAN type.

FU XI and ZHOU WEN WANG used QI GONG methods to feel the Nature and create the BA GUA's theories. To create the BA GUA figure, they observed the movements of the tortoise, the horse, the unicorn, the footprints of the birds, and the shape of ant's trails. Thus, from the observation of Nature, the horizontal and circular forms of BA GUA were created, and they were identified according to their creators

Luo Shu


Zhou Wen Wang BaGua Ci Xu Tu


Zhou Wen BaGua Fa Wei Tu


FU XI and ZHOU WEN WANG used all eight for to describe aspects of the universe, such as:

Fu Xi Xian Tian BaGua Tu

Fu Xi BaGua Ci Xu Tu


Fu Xi BaGua Fang Wei Tu

Zhou Wen Wang Hou Tian BaGua Tu

Fu Xi and Zhou Wen Wang used all eight for to describe aspects of the universe, such as:




The BA GUA ZHANG is a manifestation of BA GUA'a theory. BA GUA's theory is not important only to Wu Shu practitioners. FENG SHUI adepts also need to know and use BA GUA.

In the human body, internal organs are related to the GUAS in the following manner:

Brain - TIEM GUA  
Kidney - HAM GUA 
Spine - CHEM GUA  
Digestive Tract - SUM GUA  
Coccyx - SUM GUA 
Heart area - LI GUA  
Intestine - KUM GUA
Liver - TUEI GUA
External portion of the human body


Neck - KEM GUA

Roof of the mouth -

Foot, knee - CHEN GUA

Mouth cavity - TUI GUA


Limbs - SU CHIEM (4 forms) can be divided in 8 articulations, which can be transformed in 54 forms.

Training place

In BA GUA, the center is the ZHONG GONG

In ancient BA GUA, SHIEN TIEN means: energizing.

In later BA GUA, HOU TIEN means: action.

One can say that BA GUA ZHANG uses the theory and the philosophy of BAGUA.

Unique characteristics of BA GUA ZHANG.

It is different from other types of GONG FU because:

It uses a circular walking movement

It does not use jumps, only walking; with the walking, one can move forward, backward, and sideways.

Those movements have to be accompanied by four elements.

The purpose of the walking is to modify the location where one stands;

to not stay static;

to sense the distance from the enemy.

Beauty (aesthetics) of the movement;

Energy (thought and strength)

System (procedure)

Natural movements (following of nature's movements).

In a higher level of BA GUA ZHANG one can reach QI GONG turf. By training to focus the energy at the finger tips, one can use QI GONG to hit the adversary in a fight

The purpose of the practice of BA GUA ZHANG is to improve health and therefore it is necessary to follow the principles of WU SHU

Content of BA GUA ZHANG

A - walking straight

B - walking in a S-like fashion

C - walking in circles

D - walking randomly

E - walking along the basis of BA GUA ZHANG (8 palms)

F - 8 great palms


H - Combination of several forms.

I - BA GUA JIU GONG ZHANG (8 palms + center)

J - BA GUA DUI LIAN (contact with another)



BA GUA ZI WU YUAN YANG SHOU (BA GUA's highest form of fight)


BA GUA DAO - Saber


BA GUA GUN - Stick

BA GUA ZI WU YANG SHUO - (BA GUA's highest form of fight)